Critical Care & Acute Care Surgery


From admission to discharge, our patients are assured continuous, excellent care.

Our busy clinical environment is integrated with an academic atmosphere that stimulates and nurtures crucial research and professional development.

Surgical Critical Care Fellowship

Our Surgical Critical Care Fellowship program at the University of Minnesota is a one-year ACGME-accredited program open to physicians who have completed at least three clinical years in one of the following specialties: anesthesiology, emergency medicine (additional requirements), neurological surgery, obstetrics and gynecology, orthopaedic surgery, otolaryngology, surgery, thoracic surgery, vascular surgery or urology.

An optional second non-accredited year is available for research opportunities. We offer a comprehensive combination of clinical experiences and research opportunities for fellows to apply new advances in critical care. 

See the Critical Care & Acute Care Surgery Fellowship 

Recent News

Dr. Banton Featured on KARE-11

Banton Interview Jan 2017 Doctors Seeing Injuries

Doctors seeing spike in winter injuries - Kare11

Doctors at the University of Minnesota's new Concussion Clinic have been seeing more and more patients with similar stories in recent weeks. "This is prime season, everybody is slipping and falling and the first thing you're going to hit is your head," said Dr. Kaysie Banton, medical director at the clinic.

If you experienced prolonged headaches, dizziness or light sensitivity for 3­5 days, Banton says you should seek treatment. "If you don't rehabilitate those symptoms and you don't kind of recover from that, some of those deficits can be life long," she said.

Dr. Beilman Featured in KSTP

"We like to talk in trauma care about the 'golden hour' so typically if you've survived your injury you have about an hour to get to a hospital," Dr. Beilman said.  It turns out the U's very own mascot helped play a role in this research.

Yes, the 13-lined ground squirrel, better known around Minnesota as Goldie Gopher.  "The medication is basically two components that go way up in ground squirrels during hibernation," Dr. Beilman said. Dating back to testing these animals as far back as 2005, researchers found after severe blood loss, these squirrels injected with BHB and Melatonin were four times more likely to survive.  "What this potentially will allow us to do is extend that 'golden hour' to an hour and a half to two hours," Dr. Beilman said.

Administrative Contacts
  • Christine Vincent
    Division Administrator
    Gregory Beilman MD
    Jeffrey Chipman MD

  • Leanna Espinal
    Executive Office and Administrative Specialist
    Kaysie Banton MD
    Melissa Brunsvold MD
    Robert Bulander MD, PhD
    Jorge Granja MD

  • Colleen Powers
    Executive Office and Administrative Specialist
    Tracy Davido MD
    James Harmon MD, PhD
    Torfi Hoskuldsson MD
    Michele Loor MD
    Julie Ottosen MD