The Transplant Program at University of Minnesota Medical Center, Fairview, is one of the oldest and most successful transplant programs in the world.

Fellowship program

The Division of Organ Transplantation provides outstanding care and to continue developing new techniques that improve organ transplantation results and to train students, residents, and fellows in this vital surgical field.

Learn about the Transplantation Fellowship

Recent news

Image of Srinath Chinnakotla, MD

Outcomes Improving for Pediatric Kidney Transplant Recipients - Health Talk

If a child needed a kidney transplant 40 years ago, their chance of one-year survival was 85 percent.

But a new study in the Journal of the American College of Surgeons led by Srinath Chinnakotla, M.D., FACS, associate professor within the Department of Surgery at University of Minnesota Medical School, found pediatric kidney transplant patients have a near 100 percent chance of one-year survival today.

“The outlook for infants and children with end-stage kidney disease was once dismal, with poor survival rates after transplant,” said Chinnakotla. “But many advancements, like better surgical techniques, antirejection medications and living donor protocols, have significantly improved outcomes.”

Dr. Hering part of "New life for pig-to-human transplants" [Nature]

Eventually, gene editing might even eliminate the need for immunosuppression, says Bernhard Hering, a transplant surgeon at the University of Minnesota in Minneapolis. His group is using CRISPR to create pig islets that could be transplanted without the need for drugs. Partly because of LCT’s success with encapsulated islets, many are hopeful that islet cells will be the first genetically modified tissue to make it into clinical trials, paving the regulatory pathway for the more-difficult organs. A non-profit organization has built a germ-free facility in which to raise Hering’s pigs.

Read the full Nature article here

Admin Contacts
  • Anne Marie Papas
    Division Administrator
    Varvara Kirchner, MD
    Timothy Pruett MD
    David Sutherland MD, PhD

  • Katherine Lemke
    Executive Office and Administrative Specialist
    Srinath Chinnakotla MD
    Ty Dunn MD
    Erik Finger MD, PhD

  • Stephanie Taylor
    Executive Office and Administrative Specialist
    Raja Kandaswamy MD
    William Payne MD
    Arthur Matas MD